West Virginia Regions

Smoke Hole Countryside, West Virginia Regions, Monongahela National Forest, Potomac Branches Region

Smoke Hole Countryside

Though almost entirely mountainous, or at least very hilly, West Virginia is spectacularly diverse. Mountain ranges of varied character and settlement patterns of varied periods and peoples have combined to create a strongly regionalized geography. These twelve West Virginia regions taking into account geography and culture. Boundaries may overlap, and subdivisions exist within each.

Allegheny Highlands Region
Bluestone Region
Eastern Panhandle Region
Greenbrier Valley Region
Hatfield & McCoy Region
Heartland Region
Metro Valley Region
Mid-Ohio Valley Region
Monongahela Valley Region
New River Gorge Region
Northern Panhandle Region
Potomac Branches Region

Share on FacebookShare on Google+Share on LinkedInPin on PinterestShare on TumblrEmail this to someone