Pendleton County, West Virginia

Share via

Pendleton County, in eastern West Virginia (WV), was established in 1788 and named for jurist Edmund Pendleton. Its county seat is at Franklin. Pendleton County is renown for its scenic vistas and dramatic rock formations, which include Champe Rocks and Seneca Rocks. Large parts of the county lie within national forest areas. The highest point in the Allegheny Mountains, Spruce Knob, surmounts Spruce Mountain along the western flank of the county. The and its forks have carved pastoral valleys that run the length of the county. As of the 2010 census, its population was 7,695.

Cities & Towns in Pendleton County

Brandywine, West Virginia
Cave, West Virginia
Cherry Grove, West Virginia
Circleville,West Virginia
Fort Seybert, West Virginia
Franklin, West Virginia
Harper, West Virginia
Judy Gap, West Vrginia
Ketterman, West Virginia
Moyers, West Virginia
Onego, West Virginia
Riverton, West Virginia
Seneca Rocks, West Virginia
Sugar Grove, West Virginia
Upper Tract, West Virginia

Parks & Public Recreation Facilities

Monongahela National Forest
Spruce Knob & Seneca Rocks National Recreation Area

Pendleton County Historic Landmarks

(Circleville, WV)

Regional Information for Pendleton County, West Virginia

Further information on lodging, dining, and recreation in Pendleton County may be found in our guide to travel in the Potomac Branches Region in eastern West Virginia, in which Pendleton County is located. The western highland region of the county is located in the Allegheny Highlands Region, in which relevant travel information may also be found.