Greenbrier County, West Virginia

Share via

Greenbrier County, in southeastern West Virginia (WV), was created in 1788 from parts of Montgomery and Botetourt counties (now in Virginia) and was named for the , which drains a large part of the the eastern county. Much of the western county is drained by the  and its tributaries. The seat of Greenbrier County is at Lewisburg. Greenbrier County is renowned for its sweet farmland and deep limestone caverns. Its leading industries include tourism and farming, and much of the northern county is protected by national forest, in which timbering plays a principal role. The Greenbrier, a historic resort at White Sulphur Springs, is among the chief employers in Greenbrier County. As of the 2010 census, the county population was 35,480.

Cities & Towns in Greenbrier County

Alta, West Virginia
Anthony, West Virginia
Asbury, West Virginia
Blue Sulphur Springs, West Virginia
Columbia Sulphur Springs, West Virginia
Falling Spring, West Virginia
Fort Spring, West Virginia
Frankford, West Virginia
Grassy Meadows, West Virginia

Meadow Bluff, West Virginia

Renick, West Virginia

Sam Black Church, West Virginia
Trout, West Virginia

Williamsburg, West Virginia

Parks & Public Recreation Facilities

Beartown State Park
Greenbrier County Fairgrouds (Fairlea, WV)
Greenbrier River Rail Trail
Greenbrier State Forest
Island Park (Ronceverte, WV)
Meadow River Wildlife Management Area
Tuckwiller Roadside Park (Alta, WV)

Greenbrier County Historic Landmarks

(Alderson, WV)
(Lewisburg, WV)
(Fairlea, WV)
(Ronceverte, WV)

Regional Information for Greenbrier County, West Virginia

Further information on lodging, dining, and recreation in Greenbrier County may be found in our guide to travel in the Greenbrier Valley Region in southeastern West Virginia, in which Greenbrier County is located.