Lewis County, West Virginia

Share via
Courthouse, Lewis County, West Virginia

Lewis County, in north-central West Virginia (WV), was created in 1816 and named for Charles Lewis, a Virginian soldier and pioneer. Its county seat is at Weston. The courses northward through the county from south to north. General Thomas "Stonewall" Jackson spent his boyhood here at Jacksons Mill, and many attractions in the region are named for their association with the Jackson family.

The former Trans-Allegheny Lunatic Asylum, at Weston, is among its best known tourist draws in West Virginia. As of the 2010 census, the county population was 16,372.

Cities & Towns in Lewis County

Alum Bridge, West Virginia
Aspinall, West Virginia
Bealls Mills, West Virginia
Berlin, West Virginia
Camden, West Virginia
Churchville, West Virginia
Crawford, West Virginia
Horner, West Virginia
Ireland, West Virginia
Jacksons Mill, West Virginia

Lightburn, West Virginia
Orlando, West Virginia
Roanoke, West Virginia
South Park, West Virginia
Walkersville, West Virginia

Parks & Public Recreation Facilities

Lewis County Park (Weston, WV)
Smoke Camp Wildlife Management Area
Stonecoal Lake Wildlife Management Area
Stonewall Jackson Lake Wildlife Management Area
Stonewall Jackson State Park

Lewis County Historic Landmarks

(Jane Lew, WV)
(Weston, WV)

Regional information for Lewis County, West Virginia

Further information on lodging, dining, and recreation in Lewis County may be found in our guide to travel in the Monongahela Valley Region of northern West Virginia, in which Lewis County is located.