Marshall County, West Virginia

Share via
Courthouse, Marshall County, West Virginia

Marshall County, in the northern panhandle of West Virginia (WV), was established in 1835 and named in honor of U.S. Chief Justice John Marshall. The county is primarily rural, though population centers, such as Moundsville, the county seat, line the , which courses across the western flank of Marshall County.

The county enjoys a diverse economy, bolstered by tourism, farming, coal mining, and gas drilling, The development of shale gas fields beneath the county has boosted its economy. The Palace of Gold, the former West Virginia State Penitentiary, and the Grave Creek Mound, a state prehistoric landmark, are among its primary attractions. As of the 2010 census, the Marshall County population was 33,107.

Cities & Towns in Marshall County

Dallas, West Virginia

Glen Easton, West Virginia

New Vrindaban, West Virginia
Woodlands, West Virginia

Parks & Public Recreation Facilities

Burches Run Wildlife Management Area
Cecil H Underwood Wildlife Management Area
Dowdell Park (Glen Dale, WV)
Grand Vue Park (Moundsville, WV)
Grave Creek Mound Park (Moundsville, WV)
Marshall County Fairgrounds (Moundsville, WV)
Methodist Park (Moundsville, WV)
Ohio River Islands National Wildlife Refuge
Riverside Park (Moundsville, WV)
Saint Jude Park (Glen Dale, WV)
Valley Fork City Park (Moundsville, WV)

Marshall County Historic Landmarks

(Cameron, WV)
(Moundsville, WV)

Regional information for Marshall County, West Virginia

Further information on lodging, dining, and recreation in Marshall County may be found in our guide to travel in the Northern Panhandle Region in northern West Virginia, in which Marshall County is located.