Monroe County, West Virginia

Share via
Scenic Monroe County near Union. (Elmwood, Hugh Caperton House, c. 1830) Photo courtesy David T. Sibray

Monroe County, in southeastern West Virginia (WV), was established in 1799 and named for James Monroe. Its seat is at Union. Much of the county lies in the valley of the Greenbrier River, which is renowned for its scenery and productive farmland. Western parts of the county drain toward the New River, and the southeastern corner of the county drains toward the James River. Monroe County is famous for its caverns and mineral springs, which were the centerpieces of antebellum spas such as Sweet Springs, Red Sulphur Springs, and Salt Sulphur Springs. As of the 2010 census, the population of Monroe County was 13,502.

Cities & Towns in Monroe County

Alderson, West Virginia
Ballard, West Virginia
Bozoo, West Virginia
Gap Mills, West Virginia
Glace, West Virginia
Greenville, West Virginia
Peterstown, West Virginia
Red Sulphur Springs, West Virginia
Salt Sulphur Springs, West Virginia
Sarton, West Virginia
Secondcreek, West Virginia
Sinks Grove, West Virginia
Sweet Springs, West Virginia
Union, West Virginia
Waiteville, West Virginia
Wayside, West Virginia
Wolf Creek, West Virginia

Parks & Public Recreation Facilities

Bluestone Lake Wildlife Management Area
Cove Creek Wildlife Management Area
Confederate Soldiers Monument Park (Union, WV)
Mountain Lake Wilderness (National Forest)
Moncove Lake State Park
Moncove Lake Wildlife Management Area

Monroe County Historic Landmarks

(Alderson, WV)
(Sweet Springs, WV)

Regional Information for Monroe County, West Virginia

Further information on lodging, dining, and recreation in Monroe County may be found in our guide to travel in the Greenbrier Valley Region of southern West Virginia, in which Monroe County is located.