Union, West Virginia

Share via
The Seneca Trail (US-219) follows Main Street through downtown Union, West Virginia. (Photo: David Sibray)

Union, WV (West Virginia), the county seat of Monroe County, was settled in 1774 by James Alexander and chartered in 1799. It was named because the site often served as a mustering site for troops during the . Its population was 565 at the .

History of Union, West Virginia

In 1799, shortly after Monroe County was created, James Alexander offered 25 acres of land, including a lot for a courthouse, which in time became the town of Union. In 1800, the Virginia Assembly passed an act creating the town of Union.

By 1835, the town boasted 400 residents and supported two hotels, two tanneries, a school, two churches, and two physicians. Its location on stagecoach lines helped fuel the region's growth, as did its proximity to several mineral spring resorts, including , and . Union was incorporated again by the government of West Virginia in 1868 following the Civil War.

The town retains much of its historic and largely antebellum architecture. The Monroe County Historical Society preserves several historic structures in the town, including the Caperton Law Office, Owen Neel House, Clark-Wisemen House, Ames Clair Hall, and the Old Baptist Church. In recognition of the history and the integrity of its streetscape, the  was placed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1990.

Lodging near Union, West Virginia

Parks & Public Recreation

Moncove Lake State Park is located approximately 14 miles east of Union. The near reaches of the approach Union 20 miles to the south.


Union is located on highway US-219 approximately 16 miles south of Ronceverte, West Virginia, 20 miles south of Lewisburg, West Virginia, 20 miles southwest of Alderson, West Virginia, and 25 miles northeast of Peterstown, West Virginia.

Map of Union, West Virginia

Regional Information

Union is located in the Greenbrier Valley Region in southeastern West Virginia.