Summers County, West Virginia

Summers County, West Virginia, Court House, Hinton, New River Gorge Region
Courthouse, Summers County, West Virginia

Summers County, in southern West Virginia (WV), was established in 1871 and named in honor of George W. Summers, a prominent jurist of Kanawha County. Its county seat is at Hinton. The New, Bluestone, and Greenbrier rivers join in Summers County near Hinton at Bluestone Lake. The county is almost entirely rural and mountainous, and large parts are in parkland, state and national. As of the 2010 census, the population of Summers County was 13,927.

Cities & Towns in Summers County

Ballengee, West Virginia
Bargers Springs, West Virginia
Bertha, West Virginia
Brooks, West Virginia
Ellison Ridge, West Virginia
Farley, West Virginia
Forest Hill, West Virginia
Green Sulphur Springs, West Virginia
Hinton, West Virginia
Indian Mills, West Virginia
Judson, West Virginia
Jumping Branch, West Virginia
Lilly, West Virginia
Meadow Creek, West Virginia
Neponset, West Virginia
Nimitz, West Virginia
Pence Springs, West Virginia
Pipestem, West Virginia
Ramp, West Virginia
Sandstone, West Virginia
Talcott, West Virginia
True, West Virginia

Parks & Public Recreation Facilities

Bellpoint Park (Hinton, WV)
Bluestone Lake Wildlife Management Area
Bluestone National Scenic River
Bluestone State Park
John Henry Park (Talcott, WV)
New River Gorge National River
Pipestem Resort State Park

Summers County Historic Landmarks

Pence Springs Hotel Historic District (Pence Springs, WV)

Regional Information for Summers County, West Virginia

Further information on lodging, dining, and recreation in Summers County may be found in our guide to travel in the New River Gorge Region of southern West Virginia, in which Summers County is located. Parts of the western and eastern regions of the county are located in the Bluestone Region and Greenbrier Valley Region, within which travel information for Summers County may also be found.

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+Share on LinkedInPin on PinterestShare on TumblrEmail this to someone