Ohio County, West Virginia

Ohio County, in the northern panhandle of West Virginia (WV), was established in 1776 and named for the Ohio River, which courses along its western boundary. Its seat is at Wheeling, one of the largest cities in West Virginia and long the state capital. Three institutions of higher education have been established in the county -- West Liberty University, Wheeling Jesuit University, and Northern West Virginia Community College. Chief industries in the county include tourism. Racing at Wheeling Downs and conferences at Oglebay Resort Park attract thousands of visitors. As of the 2010 census, the Ohio County population was 44,443.

Cities & Towns in Ohio County

Bethlehem, West Virginia
Elm Grove, West Virginia
Glenwood, West Virginia
Triadelphia, West Virginia
Valley Grove, West Virginia
Warwood, West Virginia
West Liberty, West Virginia
Wheeling, West Virginia

Parks & Public Recreation

Bear Rock Lakes Wildlife Management Area
Bridge Park (Wheeling, WV)
Castleman Run Wildlife Management Area
Oglebay Park (Wheeling, WV)
Ohio River Islands National Wildlife Refuge
Pulaski Field (Benwood, WV)
Wheeling Park (Wheeling, WV)

Ohio County Historic Landmarks

LaBelle Iron Works (Wheeling, WV)
Mount Saint Joseph (Wheeling, WV)
Oglebay Mansion Museum (Wheeling, WV)
Wheeling Custom House (Wheeling, WV)
Wheeling Suspension Bridge (Wheeling, WV)

Regional Information for Ohio County, West Virginia

Further information on lodging, dining, and recreation in Ohio County may be found in our guide to travel in the Northern Panhandle Region of northern West Virginia, in which Ohio County is located.