Tucker County, West Virginia

Tucker County, in northeastern West Virginia (WV), was established in 1856 and named for statesman Henry Saint-George Tucker. Its county seat is at Parsons. Tucker may best be known for its ski areas, located in the Canaan Valley south and east of Davis and Thomas. The county is almost entirely mountainous, and much of the region lies within national forest. The Blackwater River and the both source in Tucker County. Tourism and timbering are its chief industries. Dolly Sods and Blackwater Falls, two of the most well known scenic areas in West Virginia, are located in the eastern county. As of the 2010 census, the population of Tucker County was 7,141.

Cities & Towns in Tucker County

Canaan Heights, West Virginia
Coketon, West Virginia
Cortland, West Virginia

Gatzmer, West Virginia

Hovatter, West Virginia
Laneville, West Virginia
Lead Mine, West Virginia

Porterwood, West Virginia
Red Creek, West Virginia
Saint George, West Virginia

Parks & Public Recreation Facilities

Blackwater Falls State Park
Canaan Valley National Wildlife Refuge
Canaan Valley Resort State Park
Dolly Sods Wilderness (National Forest)
Fairfax Stone State Park
Monongahela National Forest
Otter Creek Wilderness (National Forest)

Tucker County Historic Landmarks

(Thomas, WV)

Regional Information for Tucker County, West Virginia

Further information on lodging, dining, and recreation in Tucker County may be found in our guide to travel in the Allegheny Highlands Region in northeastern West Virginia, in which Tucker County is located.

Leave a Reply