Wayne County, West Virginia

Wayne County, West Virginia, Court House, Wayne, Hatfield & McCoy Region
Courthouse, Wayne County, West Virginia

Wayne County, the westernmost county in West Virginia (WV), was established in 1842 and named in honor of General Anthony Wayne. Its county seat is at Wayne. It is hilly and forested, though some gentle valleys follow Twelvepole Creek and the Big Sandy River as they course northward to the Ohio River, which forms the northern boundary of the county. The lowest point in the valley of the Ohio in West Virginia is at Kenova. As of the 2010 census, the population of Wayne County was 42,481.

Cities & Towns in Wayne County

Ceredo, West Virginia
Crum, West Virginia
East Lynn, West Virginia
Fort Gay, West Virginia
Kenova, West Virginia
Kiahsville, West Virginia
Lavalette, West Virginia
Pritchard, West Virginia
Wayne, West Virginia
Wilsondale, West Virginia

Parks & Public Recreation Facilities

Beech Fork State Park
Beech Fork Wildlife Management Area
Cabwaylingo State Forest
East Lynn Lake Wildlife Management Area
Twelvepole Valley Athletic Park (Wayne, WV)
Virginia Point Park (Kenova, WV)
Wayne Municipal Park (Wayne, WV)
Wayne Veterans Memorial Park (Wayne, WV)

Wayne County Historic Landmarks

Z.D. Ramsdell House (Ceredo, WV)

Regional Information for Wayne County, West Virginia

Further information on lodging, dining, and recreation in Wayne County may be found in our guide to travel in the Metro Valley Region in western West Virginia, in which Wayne County is located. The southern region of the county is included within the Hatfield & McCoy Region, in which travel information may also be found.