Raleigh County, West Virginia

Share via
Outliers of the Allegheny Mountains rise beyond the tablelands in central Raleigh County north of Beckley, West Virginia.

Raleigh County, in southern (WV), was created in 1850 from Fayette County and named for Sir Walter Raleigh. Its county seat is at , which is also among the largest cities in West Virginia.

Raleigh County is drained principally by the New River and its tributaries, though its western and southern reaches are drained by tributaries of the Coal River, Kanawha River, and the Guyandotte River.

The county is a chief destination for travel in West Virginia. National parkland and Winterplace ski resort attract thousands of tourists each year. Tamarack, Glade Springs Resort, and the Beckley Exhibition Coal Mine are landmark destinations. As of the 2010 census, the population of Raleigh County was 78,859.

Cities & Towns in Raleigh County

Arnett, West Virginia

Bolt, West Virginia

Bragg, West Virginia
Clear Creek, West Virginia

Cool Ridge, West Virginia
Cranberry, West Virginia

Dorothy, West Virginia
Eccles, West Virginia

Glen Daniel, West Virginia
Grandview, West Virginia

Montcoal, West Virginia

Prosperity, West Virginia
Raleigh, West Virginia

Slab Fork, West Virginia

Surveyor, West Virginia
White Oak, West Virginia

Parks & Public Recreation Facilities

National Historic Districts and Landmarks

Regional Information for Raleigh County, West Virginia

Further information on lodging, dining, and recreation in Raleigh County may be found in our guide to travel in the New River Gorge Region of southern West Virginia, in which Raleigh County is located.