Mingo County, West Virginia

Mingo County, West Virginia, Court House, Williamson, Hatfield & McCoy Region
Courthouse, Mingo County, West Virginia

Mingo County, in southwestern West Virginia (WV), the youngest county in West Virginia, was created in 1895 and named in honor of the Mingo tribe, native inhabitants of the Ohio Valley region. Its county seat is at Williamson. The Tug Fork River drains its rugged terrain, which is part of the Cumberland Mountains region. The county is part of an extremely productive coal mining region, and mining is its chief economic engine. Mingo County, and neighboring Logan County, may best be known as the historic domain of the Hatfield family, some members of which engaged in a renowned feud with the McCoy family of Kentucky in the late 1800s. As of the 2010 census, the population of Mingo County was 26,839.

Cities & Towns in Mingo County

Borderland, West Virginia
Breeden, West Virginia
Chattaroy, West Virginia
Delbarton, West Virginia
Dingess, West Virginia
Gilbert, West Virginia
Justice, West Virginia
Kermit, West Virginia
Matewan, West Virginia
Mountain View, West Virginia
Naugatuck, West Virginia
New Town, West Virginia
Red Jacket, West Virginia
Wharncliff, West Virginia
Williamson, West Virginia

Parks & Public Recreation Facilities

Buffalo Mountain ATV Trail System
Laurel Lake Wildlife Management Area
R.D. Bailey Lake Wildlife Management Area
Rockhouse ATV Trail System

Mingo County Historic Landmarks

Hatfield Cemetery (New Town, WV)
Sandlick Sportsman's Club (Gilbert, WV)

Regional Information for Mingo County, West Virginia

Further information on lodging, dining, and recreation in Mingo County may be found in our guide to travel in the Hatfield & McCoy Region in southwestern West Virginia, in which Mingo County is located.