Marion County, West Virginia

Share via
Courthouse, Marion County, West Virginia

Marion County, in northern (WV), was established in 1842 and named in honor of General Francis Marion, a war strategist and military hero. Its county seat is at Fairmont, the home of Fairmont State University. The and join at Fairmont to form the . The county enjoys a diverse economy, which includes farming, tourism, gas drilling, coal mining, and technology. Central Marion County was once a highly productive coal mining region.

Much of the western county is sparsely settled. As of the 2010 census, the population of Marion County was 56,418.

Cities & Towns in Marion County

Boothsville, West Virginia
Colfax, West Virginia

Kingmont, West Virginia
Metz, West Virginia

Watson, West Virginia

Parks & Public Recreation Facilities

East Marion Park (Fairmont, WV)
Farmington Miners Memorial Park
Fifth Street Park (Fairmont, WV)
Guyses Run Fishing Park
Mary Lou Retton Park (Fairmont, WV)
Morris Park (Fairmont, WV)
Palatine Park (Fairmont, WV)
Pricketts Fort State Park
Valley Falls State Park
Windmill Park (Fairmont, WV)

Marion County Historic Landmarks

(Fairmont, WV)
(Fairmont, WV)

Regional Information for Marion County, West Virginia

Further information on lodging, dining, and recreation in Marion County may be found in our guide to travel in the Monongahela Valley Region of northern West Virginia, in which Marion County is located.