Monongalia County, West Virginia

Share via
Monongalia County Court House

Monongalia County, in northern (WV), was established in 1776 and named for the , which courses through the central county. Its county seat is at Morgantown, which is one of the largest cities in West Virginia. West Virginia University, the largest institution of higher education in West Virginia, is located in Morgantown. The economy of Monongalia County is diversified and includes farming, tourism, gas drilling, coal mining, education, and technology.

The , which is impounded to create Lake Lynn, or Cheat Lake, drains part of the western county. As of the 2010 census, the population of Monongalia County was 96,189.

Cities & Towns in Monongalia County

Booth, West Virginia
Blacksville, West Virginia
Browns Chapel, West Virginia

Core, West Virginia
Dellslow, West Virginia
Everettville, West Virginia

Gum Spring, West Virginia

Maidsville, West Virginia

Pentress, West Virginia
Rosedale, West Virginia
Sabraton, West Virginia
Saint Leo, West Virginia
Saint Cloud, West Virginia

Uffington, West Virginia
Wadestown, West Virginia
Wana, West Virginia

Parks & Public Recreation Facilities

Chestnut Ridge Regional Park
Coopers Rock State Forest
Dorseys Knob Park (Morgantown, WV)
Edith Barill Riverfront Park (Star City, WV)
Hazel Ruby McQuain Park (Morgantown, WV)
Jack Roberts Park (Morgantown, WV)
Krepps Park (Morgantown, WV)
Mason Dixon Park
Marilla Park (Morgantown, WV)
Pedlar Wildlife Management Area
Saint Markellas Park (Morgantown, WV)
Snake Hill Wildlife Management Area
Westover City Park (Westover, WV)
West Virginia Botanic Garden
White Park (Morgantown, WV)
Whitmore Park (Morgantown, WV)

Monongalia County Historic Landmarks

(Cheat Lake, WV)
(Westover, WV)
(Morgantown, WV)
(Morgantown, WV)

Regional Information for Monongalia County, West Virginia

Further information on lodging, dining, and recreation in Monongalia County may be found in our guide to travel in the Monongahela Valley Region in northern West Virginia, in which Monongalia County is located.