Jackson County, West Virginia

Share via
Barn on Cabin Fork in Jackson County, West Virginia

Jackson County, in western West Virginia (WV), was formed in 1831 from parts of Wood, Mason, and Kanawha counties and was named for President Andrew Jackson. Its county seat is at Ripley, though its largest municipality is Ravenswood, on the . Jackson County is part of one of the most productive agricultural regions in West Virginia and is renowned for its scenic farmland and wooded ridges. Interstate 77 runs the length of the county between the  and  metropolitan areas, to the north and south, respectively. As of the 2010 census, the population of Jackson County was 29,211.

Cities & Towns in Jackson County

Cottageville, West Virginia
Flatwoods, West Virginia
Kenna, West Virginia
Kentuck, West Virginia
Millwood, West Virginia
Murraysville, West Virginia

Rock Castle, West Virginia

Sandyville, West Virginia
Sherman, West Virginia
Statts Mill, West Virginia

Parks & Public Recreation Facilities

Cedar Lakes State Recreation Center
Frozencamp Wildlife Management Area
Jackson County Fairgrounds (Cottageville, WV)

Ohio River Islands National Wildlife Refuge
Rollins Lake Wildlife Management Area
Turkey Run Wildlife Management Area
Woodrum Wildlife Management Area

Jackson County Historic Landmarks

(Ravenswood, WV)

Regional Information for Jackson County, West Virginia

Further information on lodging, dining, and recreation in Jackson County may be found in our guide to travel in the Mid-Ohio Valley Region in western West Virginia, in which Jackson County is located.