Preston County, West Virginia

Pastures range across northern Preston County near Cranesville, West Virginia.
Pastures range across northern Preston County near Cranesville, West Virginia.

Preston County, in northeastern West Virginia (WV), was formed in 1818 from Monongalia County and named in honor of James Patton Preston, the governor of Virginia from 1816 until 1819. Its county seat is at Kingwood. Preston County has long been a leader in buckwheat production statewide, and the central county is sometimes referred to as the state "Buckwheat Belt."

The Cheat River flows northwestward through the central county, and a small area of the southeastern county is drained by the Youghiogheny River. Both rivers are counted among the most popular streams for whitewater rafting in the eastern U.S. As of the 2010 census, the Preston County population was 33,520.

Cities & Towns in Preston County

Albright, West Virginia
Arthurdale, West Virginia
Aurora, West Virginia
Brandonville, West Virginia
Bruceton Mills, West Virginia
Corinth, West Virginia
Cranesville, West Virginia
Eglon, West Virginia
Fellowsville, West Virginia
Hazelton, West Virginia
Horse Shoe Run, West Virginia
Kingwood, West Virginia
Masontown, West Virginia
Newburg, West Virginia
Reedsville, West Virginia
Rowlesburg, West Virginia
Silver Lake, West Virginia
Terra Alta, West Virginia
Tunnelton, West Virginia

Parks & Public Recreation Areas

Cathedral State Park
Coopers Rock State Forest
Cranesville Swamp Nature Preserve
Monongahela National Forest
Deckers Creek Wildlife Management Area

Preston County Historic Landmarks

Colonel Thomas Brown House (Reedsville, WV)
Terra Alta Bank (Terra Alta, WV)

Regional Information for Preston County, West Virginia

Preston County Court House at Kingwood, WV, Monongahela Valley Region
Preston County Court House

Further information on lodging, dining, and recreation in Preston County may be found in our guide to travel in the Monongahela Valley Region of northern West Virginia, in which much of Preston County is located. Its southern region is located in the Allegheny Highlands Region, in which travel information for Preston County may also be found.